Yummy homemade flour tortillas!


As I was making homemade veggie fajita last night, I realized I didn’t have enough flour tortillas. I really didn’t feel like running to the store so I did the next best thing….jumped online to check out recipes. I came across one that was easy to do so I tried it out.

Flour tortilla recipe
By: Abuelita Elvira Gonzalez Leal

3 cups unbleached flour (I needed more so I doubled recipe and I prefer organic unbleached and brominated flour by King Arther)
2 tsp baking powder (make sure you don’t mistake this for baking soda)
1 tsp salt
4-6 Tbsp vegetable shortening or lard (I used vegetable shortening because it was handy)

Mix dry ingredients together in large bowl

Add vegetable shortening. I use a pastry cutter but you can use a fork to cut in the shortening.

Add warm water a little bit at a time until dough is soft and not sticky.

Lena the dough then form into about twelve small dough balls. They should be about the size of a golf ball or a bit bigger. Let set for ten minutes.

As the dough is resting heat up your griddle or cast iron pan. Set to medium high (400 for a plug on griddle). Roll dough into thin circles. Lay dough in pan. When it starts to bubble flip(this only takes about ten to fifteen seconds per side).

Place in a warmer or on a plate and cover until ready to use!!!

Leave a Reply

